Technical Officials and Volunteers needed for QWA League Final at Milton


The final QWA competition of the year is on the 23rd November at Milton Weightlifting Club - the 2019 QWA League Final.

Make sure you make the most of this final opportunity for 2019 to tick off some of the roles needed for you to upgrade your TO Qualification in 2020.

Any level of Referee can volunteer. New referees -just add in the notes when you sign up that you would like a mentor to help you with the role.

Sign up here:

Published on 12 Nov 19 - 18:04

QWA 2019 League Final Entries and Schedule

2019 QWA League Final

Saturday 23rd November 2019

Venue: Milton Weightlifting Club, Molyfit.








Female Masters





Male Masters



Sunshine Coast/Cougars


Division 3 & 4





Division 1 & 2



Sunshine Coast


There is no need to notify the QWA office of any bodyweight changes for this competition

Photo ID must presented at Weigh-in

Starting attempts must be submitted at time of weigh-in


  • Competitors must wear clothing which conforms to the following:
  • may be one-piece or two pieces but must cover the trunk of the competitor;
  • must be close fitting;
  • must be collar-less;
  • may be of any colour;
  • must not cover the elbows;
  • must not cover the knees.
  • A T-shirt may be worn under the costume. The sleeves must not cover the elbows. This shirt must be collar-less.
  • No t-shirts to be worn over lifting suits;
  • Close fitting leotard / cycling trunks may be worn under or over the costume. They must not cover the knees.
  • An example of an acceptable two-piece costume would be: “Bike pants” which are close fitting and do not cover the knees plus a collarless T shirt or singlet which covers the trunk, is close fitting and does not cover the elbows.
  • Entrants will not be permitted to compete in clothing that does not conform to the rules above.


  • Loose fitting clothing
  • Anything that covers the elbows (apart from a unitard)
  • Any clothing that displays words, slogans, or images other than brand trademarks and/or weightlifting club / team names or logos
  • Lifting belts wider than 120mm



Individual Awards:     

  • Gold, Silver and Bronze medals will be awarded for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place in each Division.
  • Gold, Silver and Bronze medals will be awarded for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place in Female Masters and Male Masters





Female Masters    
17 Tara Noonan 1980 Cougars
92 Angela Barnas 1980 Sunshine Coast
98 Julie Davis 1952 North Brisbane
230 Colleen Duplock 1954 North Brisbane
291 Susan Hornick 1978 Cougars
Male Masters      
23 Callum Hannay 1979 Burleigh Barbell
132 Dion Walmsley 1966 Unattached
140 Nathan Mortensen 1984 Unattached
162 Steven Graham 1973 Ipswich Weightlifting
Division 3 & 4      
  Division 4    
42 Joshua Reynolds   2004 Jimboomba Barbell
94 Levi Deans  2006 Sunshine Coast
103 Rebecca Smith  1982 Milton
149 Rachel McDonald (McClure)  1991 Sunshine Coast
208 Maximilian Clark  2000 Sunshine Coast
248 Matthew Barrett  2003 Sunshine Coast
  Division 3    
58 Adair Forsyth  1996 Sunshine Coast
216 Peter Thomsen  1964 North Brisbane
267 Kevin Leong  1995 Ipswich Weightlifting
Division 1 & 2 Division 2    
19 Mia Delos  1991 Burleigh Barbell
20 Jemma Cowper  1991 Stay True
246 Tanya Eames  1987 Toowoomba
  Division 1    
53 Chevy Sukkar  1992 Ipswich Weightlifting
112 Jack Major  1995 Ipswich Weightlifting
119 Cameron Geraghty  1992 Ipswich Weightlifting
123 Claire Binch  1988 Burleigh Barbell
131 Chevy Sukkar  1992 Ipswich Weightlifting
227 Makayla Dingle  2001 Ipswich Weightlifting


Published on 12 Nov 19 - 9:13

2020 Australian Open date change

Dear State Members,


Please note that due to venue considerations, the date of the 2020 Australian Open has changed. This event will now take place at the AIS, Canberra, on Friday 28th February – Sunday 1st March, 2020.


Consequently, the qualifying period has been extended to 22nd December 2019; and the entry closing date is now Friday 27th December 2019.

From the Office of the AWF.

Published on 6 Nov 19 - 16:27

2020 National & Oceania Masters event - Cairns

Please find here the competition information and regulations for the 2020 AWF National Masters Championships and Oceania Masters Open, being held at Cairns QLD, on 5 – 7 June 2020.

Published on 31 Oct 19 - 10:26

Volunteers and Technical Officials sign up - 2019 QWA All Schools Championship

To all QWA members

We need you all to get behind the All Schools Championship 8-10th November at St Andrews College, Tallebudgerra.

Schedule & Preliminary Entries

A big thank you to Libby Woods, all the Burleigh Barbell Crew (lead by Callum & Rawena), and St Andrews College for their work in putting together this event at a non-club venue.

Please click below to sign up -  if you are refereeing please also sign up for the Weigh-in.

Uniform: TO's white shirt and navy blue trousers/skirt/dress shorts and jacket.

Loaders -  closed in shoes and either a QWA t-shirt or Club t-shirt.

You will note on the competition schedule Clubs have been allocated to loading duties. This is a back-up plan to fill those gaps that exist once the roster is finalised. Anyone is very welcome to load, and please remember we could do with the assistance of experienced loaders as well. Come along and support our lifters of the future.

Remember No alcohol, No smoking, and No illicit drugs on school grounds. AND All QWA competitions are subject to testing by the Australian Sports Anti-Doping Agency.

At the event most participants will be under 18 and the event is being held at a school - we need to see both COACHES and TECHNICAL OFFICIALS wearing their Blue Cards when on duty.

If you don’t have a Blue Card yet, you still have time to apply for one before the event:

Police and Teachers are exempt but do need to apply for an EXEMPTION card through the Blue Card services.

Everyone else however does need to apply for a Blue Card regardless of your work-related role.

It’s easy to apply, it’s free and takes approximately 2 weeks to receive your Blue Card. If you have an existing Blue Card, you will need to link it to the QWA.

You will need to have your form signed by a QWA representative: If you are attached to a club that has a QWA Committee member you can approach them directly. Fill out all you can on the form and be sure to have your ID with you, including a copy of your DL or similar document.

Michael Keelan President

Greg Hobl Vice President

Rawena Tairi Secretary 

Rebecca Gowland Treasurer

Committee members:

Callum Hannay

Leanne Knox

Damon Kelly

Lawrie Townsend

Operations Manager Debra Keelan

If you can’t access a representative in person you can email in your completed forms along with scanned ID to or

Once you have your Blue Card please update your QWA account with the Card Number and Expiry date


Look forward to working with you all at this event. :)

Published on 23 Oct 19 - 8:49


< Prev  Next>